Album Reviews

The Instant
Abolitionist The Instant
Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 11:23
submitted by

The Portland, OR punk outfit known as Abolitionist have been going at it since 2009 and show no signs of slowing down on album number four, ‘The Instant’. And with the band being fierce anti-capitalism supporters, this one – like their previous releases- is available on a name-your-price basis over on the band’s Bandcamp page.


Throughout twelve songs, Abolitionist explore an alternate reality where almost everyone in the world suddenly becomes touched by overwhelming empathy. Well, almost everyone. At the same time they look into the human tendency to follow the herd in the name of lofty ideals — often at the expense of individual freedom. That’s a lot of subject matter to take on in one album. Muscially as well, there’s plenty going on. Palm-muted chords and frenetic rhythm changes go hand in hand with more atmospheric parts.


The only thing I can’t wrap my head around is how they always manage to let a song build up, then build up some more and then… well, then it’s on to the next one. Every single time I expect a song to explode and leave a smoldering crater where my couch used to be, Abolitionist pull out the plug and move on to the next song. It feels like a missed opportunity. Obviously these guys have what it takes, yet I can’t help but feel a bit disappointed.


Track listing:

  1. The Instant    
  2. Trouble    
  3. A Little Animal Liberation Never Hurt Anybody    
  4. Up Rising, Together    
  5. The Movement    
  6. Backlash    
  7. Never Wanted This    
  8. Everything's Great (But We're Still Shit)    
  9. Failed Projections    
  10. Totally Bonkers    
  11. What If ... ?    
  12. Lonesome Death