Album Reviews

Find Sense. Feel Love. Make Light.
House & Home Find Sense. Feel Love. Make Light. Punk Rock Theory
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 15:09
submitted by

An album title like ‘Find Sense. Feel Love. Make Light.’ might have a new age-y ring to it, but don’t run away just yet. This Richmond-based band isn’t going to try and clean your chakras or make the whole place smell like patchouli. Instead, House & Home looked at the early 00’s for inspiration for their debut album and came up with a tasty concoction that lingers somewhere between Taking Back Sunday, early Brand New, Further Seems Forever and Saosin.

House & Home start off strong with opener ‘Tempest’ and ‘Wander,’ songs that are powerful, melodic and packed with strong harmonies whereas ‘Find Sense.’ has a melancholic vibe that reels you in right from the start. They then manage to keep the momentum going for most of the album with the exception of ‘Pocket Knife’. Not sure what it is exactly, but there is something about the way the vocals work with the music that feels a bit grating. Luckily, they bounce back fast with the stripped down ‘Make Light’ and the explosive closer that is ‘Cathedral’.

House & Home might not win any awards for most original sound, but they sure have delivered a solid throwback with ‘Find Sense. Feel Love. Make Light.’


Track listing:

  1. Tempest
  2. Heatseeker
  3. Wander
  4. Find Sense.
  5. Shrunken Head
  6. Feel Love.
  7. Burn
  8. Pocket Knife
  9. Make Light.
  10. Cathedral