Album Reviews

Las Nubes SMVT Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, June 23, 2019 - 11:25
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Formerly known as SMVT, Miami’s Las Nubes take their love of all things 90ies alt-rock and turn it into nine songs that are as lo-fi as they are catchy and come with a thick coating of effortless cool.

The trio - consisting of guitarist/vocalist Ale Campos, bassist Nina Carolina and drummer Emile Milgrim - switch as easily between dream pop/shoegaze-y melodies and noisy assaults on your eardrums as they do between singing in English and Spanish. The result is an album that continues to surprise and impress as they dish out one snarky riff after the other before throwing in another vocal harmony just for the heck of it.


Track listing:

  1. Still Growing    
  2. Allusions    
  3. Tired of Trying    
  4. Hellbag    
  5. Cold    
  6. QSW    
  7. Retrograde    
  8. I Go Wild (The Bats cover)    
  9. Deposit Slip