Album Reviews

My Dear Effigy
Movin In Stereo My Dear Effigy
Sunday, September 16, 2018 - 11:29
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Movin’ In Stereo is a Swedish band with members having relocated from New Zealand and the UK. Quite the international pairing. They have now self-released their debut 6-song EP, ‘My Dear Effigy’. And well, if you are looking for the short version… it sounds pretty friggin’ great.

They are off to a great start right away with ‘Great Decline’. I mean, any song that has some Menzingers-like melodies going on while also bringing The Loved Ones to mind, is good in my book. Later on they sound a bit like Alkaline Trio minus the goth stuff one second (‘This Punctured Lung’) and pack some of The Gaslight Anthem’s melancholy the next (‘Mercy’).

The least you can say is that Movin’ On Stereo sure know how to pick their influences. But they are also capable of writing pop-punk songs that can stand on their own two feet and are as catchy as they are high on energy. Good stuff!!


Track listing:

  1. Great Decline
  2. My Dear Effigy
  3. Snake Charmer
  4. This Punctured Lung
  5. Mercy
  6. True North