Upcoming Releases

Pink Mexico Dump Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, January 19, 2019 - 09:36
submitted by

Brooklyn, NY trio Pink Mexico share the first track from their forthcoming third album Dump today via surf/skate culture outlet What Youth? Hear and share the garage-grunge surf-pop track "High Dive".

Dump will be released March 1st, 2019 on cassette and digital via Burger Records and vinyl via Little Dickman Records.

After playing drums for countless other bands, including Shilpa Ray, WALTZ and Lola Pistola, Robert Preston Collum went for a change and began his solo project, Pink Mexico. After moving from Brooklyn to Los Angeles, Preston self-released the first Pink Mexico LP, pnik mxeico in June of 2013, attracting the attention of Austin-based record label Fleeting Youth Records, who then re-released pnik mxeico the following December.

Preston relocated to Brooklyn in the fall of 2014 to begin recording his next album while continuing other releases: a split 7" with Los Angeles-based band, SunLikeDrugs as well as a 12" vinyl pressing of pnik mxeico by Bordeaux, France based label Big Tomato Records. The underground buzz surrounding the first LP led Preston into the Burger Records family. Following countless Brooklyn shows and making the rounds at this year's SXSW, Pink Mexico has grown as a band comprised of Grady Walker & Ian Everall.

After the release of Fool via Burger Records Summer 2016, Pink Mexico toured as direct support for Honus Honus (aka Man Man) for his "Use Your Delusion" Tour in November 2016. Spending most of 2017 and 2018 dedicated to recording Dump, the 3rd studio album with Jeremy Scott (Vivian Girls, These Are Powers) at Civil Defense in Brooklyn, NY. The band relentlessly toured North America to support Fool, while Collum also played drums on the new Lola Pistola record Curfew and went out on tour in support of the album in early 2018.

Unlike previous records, where Collum manned all instruments, this release includes both Everall and Walker on bass and drums, respectively.  


Track listing:

  1. Thumbsucker
  2. High Dive
  3. Prescription Overdose
  4. Dirty & Stupid
  5. Sex Happiness
  6. Girlfriend
  7. WSLY
  8. Shit River
  9. Rattle Brain
  10. Fuckhead
  11. Liberty Kid
  12. Psycho Juice