Album Reviews

Distant Shores
electric)noise(machine distant shores
Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 11:45
submitted by

Belgian dead poppers electric)noise(machine recently released their third EP, ‘Distant Shores’. If anything, these four songs prove they don’t need anything more than drums, bass and Ioan Kaes’ impressive vocals to live up to their band name.


For an accurate impression of what these guys are about, check out the mildly disturbing video for the title track below. If you are too lazy to click on the video, imagine a vocalist who sounds like a cross between Thrice’s Dustin Kensrue when he was still screaming his lungs out and The Bronx’ Matt Caughtran (who is still screaming his lungs out). All this over songs that have holed up somewhere between the bass/drum attack of Death From Above, a more hook-laden take on Lightning Bolt’s avant-garde noiserock and the aural assault of the hugely underrated band Vaux.


More please!


Track listing:

  1. Distant Shores
  2. Running Bull
  3. Vengines
  4. Violent Thoughts